Amazon has announced raise in minimum wage for all its employees, beginning November. The $15 hourly wage has been arrived at after a prolonged phase of international workers strikes as well as demands domestically by minimum wage activists.
As of July 2018, if you work anywhere in New York State, outside of New York City and the remaining 28 counties and you are subjected to sexual harassment, a hostile work environment, or unwelcome sexual attention, you can hold your employer accountable.
If you’re going to have your Rosa Parks moment, make it count. Make sure you document, document, document the complaint, and all follow up to the boss, to the HR department. Whatever happens, put it in writing. Hold their feet to the fire. Stand up for yourself. The Rosa Parks moment, Circa 2018 in the workplace.
Every case has a statute of limitations – the date by which it must be filed, or the chances are lost forever. In discrimination cases, sexual harassment, pregnancy discrimination, retaliation, any kind of employment law case, a charge of discrimination must be filed with the United States Equal Employment Opportunity Commission before you’re allowed to file in court, and that charge of discrimination must be filed, within either 180 days of the last discriminatory act or 300 days of the last discriminatory act, depending on the state where you work. So for instance, in New York, that federal filing date with EEOC is 300 days from, if you were fired, that is likely the last discriminatory act.
Tuckner Sipser partner William J. Sipser argued and won a recent disability discrimination decision on behalf of his client, Suzette Watson, at the Appellate Division, First Department. The Manhattan appeals court reversed a lower trial court ruling dismissing Watson’s disability discrimination claim against her former employer. Mr. Sipser successfully argued that the stated reason for […]